“I Want to Lose Weight, But I Want to Eat Cake and Donuts and Chips and Ice Cream and Pasta”

My friends and I often laugh about the cycle of my diet. It goes like this: I start off each week saying “Okay I’m starting my diet today.” Monday is okay, Tuesday is okay. Wednesday I’m just having one little cheat snack. Thursday I’m snacking throughout the day, but I’m still determined to keep going. By Friday I’ve totally blown it, “Epic Fail!” And I’m once again saying, “I’m going to start my diet Monday.” This explains why I have not been successful with dieting, right? So, I have come to the conclusion that my problem is “I Want to Lose Weight, But I Want to Eat Cake and Donuts and Chips and Ice Cream and Pasta.”

Much like many of us we want all the blessings God has promised us. We want His Favor, His Mercy, and His Grace; but we want to continue doing the same thing over and over. We want to continue living a sinful, rebellious life, and wonder why we are not receiving the fullness of His Blessings.

What shall we say then? Shall we continue in sin, that grace may abound? God forbid. How shall we, that are dead to sin, live any longer therein? Romans 6:1-2 KJV

This week’s blog post is short, simple, sweet and to the point. We have to do our part, there is no way around it. We can have faith that we will receive all the blessings of God, but there’s something required of us.

His word declares if we seek ye first the kingdom of God and all his righteousness then all these other things will be added unto us (Matthew 6:33).

God desires an intimate relationship, true fellowship with us. We have to submit to His Will, and obey His Word and His Commandments. Once we do these things, we will begin to see the Overflow of the Bountiful blessings the Lord has promised us.

Throughout this week why don’t you do a self-evaluation (as I often challenge you to do), and honestly assess if you have been treating your relationship with God the same way I’ve been treating my relationship with dieting. If so, let me save you the trouble; It won’t work!

So, That Settles It. I Want to Lose Weight, But I Want to Eat Cake and Donuts and Chips and Ice Cream and Pasta,” but it isn’t working; so I have to make a conscious decision to get off this rollercoaster ride of diet fails and make a lifestyle change. Likewise, we all have to make a decision to eliminate sin and disobedience from our lives, because it ultimately leads to death and destruction. This requires a lifestyle change, living a life that is pleasing to God. That’s when we will receive and experience the Abundance of His Blessings.

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Leave a comment